OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

RYAN RONCO Placer County

MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

**voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

JOHN MCKIBBEN** Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED** Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE**
Sacramento County
TRICIA WEBBER
Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT

Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790

E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

April 17, 2017

The Honorable Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher State Capitol Building, Room 2114 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Gonzalez Fletcher:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **AB 668**, your proposed legislation which would place a bond measure on the June 2018 ballot for voter approval to appropriate \$450 million to replace aging voting systems in all of California's 58 counties.

After the passage of the Help America Vote Act in 2002 and Proposition 41 voting Modernization Bond Act of 2002, most of California's 58 counties purchased new voting systems. These systems all were put into use by the 2006 election cycle and rely on outdated technology and equipment that is near, or at, the end of its life. The voting equipment is difficult, almost impossible, to maintain because parts are no longer being manufactured, so as machines fail they cannot be repaired or replaced.

The voting model is changing in California with the passage of SB 450 (2016), which allows 14 counties the option to switch to vote centers from traditional polling places in 2018. The remaining 44 will have that option in 2020. Unfortunately, the current voting systems in the counties will not last until 2018 or 2020. Your proposal indicates that systems obtained after January 1, 2017 are eligible for reimbursement, but the county must <u>purchase</u> these systems. Because of the changing voting model, many counties are looking at the option of leasing voting equipment and components so they can adapt more effectively to the changes. Although the lease option may be implied in the meaning of purchase, we would like to see it changed to state "lease or purchase" so counties can be secure in knowing they can request reimbursement if opting to lease.

It is imperative for counties to obtain new voting equipment, and we are pleased that you are looking for a way to secure a funding source to allow for that. Please feel to contact me at tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.org or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at lavinei@saccounty.net or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

Tricia Webber

Siciallebber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Officium Populi - Office of the People